2021 Outstanding Contribution to Cancer Control Awards

Award finalists

2021 Outstanding Contribution to Cancer Control Awards

Celebrating the outstanding work of individuals whose efforts have contributed to cancer care and control

Building on the success of the UICC member awards at the 2018 World Cancer Congress, UICC launched its inaugural Outstanding Contribution to Cancer Control Award at the 2019 World Cancer Leaders' Summit in Nur-sultan, Kazakhstan. 

This distinction recognises and celebrates the outstanding work of individuals whose efforts have contributed to advancing cancer care and control. 

The first Award in 2019 was given to HE Dr Tabaré Vázquez, President of Uruguay, and the other two finalists were also highly eminent advocates for cancer control: Prof. Ian Hector Frazer, internationally renowned medical doctor and researcher in the field of immunology, and H.E. Mr Edgar Chagwa Lungu, President of Zambia. 

The second iteration of this prestigious prize will take place during the 2021 World Cancer Leaders' Summit, with the Awards ceremony held at the Gala dinner on Monday 25th October at the JFK Presidential Library and Museum.

UICC, its Board members and the rest of the judging panel are looking forward to receiving new high profile nominations and celebrate outstanding individuals contributing to cancer care and control.

Nominations for the 2021 Awards are now closed. 

In 2021, there are two Awards categories: the policy-makers category and the civil society category.

The nominees in the policy-maker category must currently work in government, be responsible for setting a country’s policies impacting national cancer control, whether directly or indirectly.

The nominees in the civil society category must currently work in the broader global health and/or cancer community, whether in international organisations, academia, businesses or non-profits.

The focus of both awards is aligned with the Summit's theme: Driving innovation to advance cancer control equitably.

Please consult the 2021 Awards Terms & Conditions for more details on the process.

Last update: 
Tuesday 14 September 2021