New Board of Directors announced at UICC General Assembly

The new 2018-2020 UICC Board of Directors
2 October 2018

UICC members welcome in a new Board of Directors for the 2018 to 2020 period

At this evening’s General Assembly, held as part of the 2018 World Cancer Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, UICC full members voted for the 2018-2020 Board of Directors as follows:


Professor Anil D'Cruz, President-elect

Professor Anil D'Cruz from India

Board of Directors:

  1. Dr Wahid AlKharusi, Oman
  2. Ms Ulrika Årehed Kågström, Sweden
  3. Ms Sally Cowal, United States
  4. Professor Jeff  Dunn, Australia
  5. Professor Daiming Fan, China
  6. Dr Cristiana Fonseca, Portugal
  7. Mr Nick Grant, United Kingdom
  8. Professor Anne Lee, Hong Kong
  9. Dr Alejandro Mohar, Mexico
  10. Dr Ana Cristina Pinho Mendes Pereira , Brazil
  11. Professor Danielle Rodin, Canada
  12. Dr Zainab Shinkafi-Bagudu, Nigeria
  13. Dr Saunthari Somasundaram, Malaysia
  14. Mrs Ann Steyn, South Africa

Incoming President Princess Dina Mired presented her ambitions for the coming years including the Treatment for All Campaign and new World Cancer Day theme of I Am and I Will #IAmAndIWill.

The General Assembly was also an opportunity for members to hear from as well as network, receive updates and provide input on UICC’s work and complete constitutional duties including approval of 2016 General Assembly minutes, 2017-2018 accounts and discharge the CEO and current board of their duties.

The General Assembly was also an occasion to award the inaugural UICC Awards. Full details of the awardees came be found here.

Last update: 
Friday 7 June 2019