The final year of World Cancer Day’s ‘I Am and I Will’ campaign kicks off this month

3 September 2020

Join supporters around the world on Facebook Live this 22nd September for the official launch 

The final year of the three-year ‘I Am and I Will’ campaign officially launches on 22nd September, providing a four-month build-up to World Cancer Day on 4th February 2021. To kick off the campaign, the UICC team will be gathering supporters and the global cancer community for a special event, coinciding with World Chronic Myeloid Leukemia Day.

Broadcasting via Facebook Live, the UICC team will present the plans for the ‘I Am and I Will’ campaign from now until February and what supporters can expect on World Cancer Day itself. UICC members and partners will also be sharing their experiences in raising awareness and creating impact through World Cancer Day, as well as insights on how they will be marking this coming 4th February. The livestream will also encourage questions from anyone tuning in.

World Cancer Day’s three-year ‘I Am and I Will’ campaign was first launched to a packed room at the World Cancer Congress in Kuala Lumpur at the end of 2018 and has achieved so much since then. Reaching over 14,000 mentions in traditional media and over 700,000 on social media, along with the enthusiastic engagement of thousands of organisations and supporters with close to 1,000 activities taking place all over the world in 2020, the campaign’s reach has strengthened year on year. 

The campaign’s impact has also grown with at least 66 governments marking the past World Cancer Day, including three governments – Malawi, Poland and Rwanda – who used the day to launch new national cancer control plans, while the European Commission used the day as a major milestone in kicking off public consultations for their ambitious  Europe’s Beating Cancer Plan

Though the ongoing pandemic has required changes to how the UICC community best generates support in 2021, the enthusiasm for raising cancer awareness and pushing for action has not been dampened. 

Watch and join in live at Facebook.com/worldcancerday on
Tuesday 22 September, 3pm - 3.30pm CEST 
9am EDT, 1pm UTC, 2pm BST/WEST, 3pm CEST & CAT, 11pm AEDT

To be notified when the World Cancer Day Facebook broadcast goes live, click on the 'Follow' button on the official World Cancer Day Facebook page.

Learn more about World Cancer Day at worldcancerday.org 
 
 

Last update: 
Friday 4 September 2020
Share