UICC selects awardees of the 2017 Young Leaders Programme

26 September 2017

UICC is delighted to announce seven awardees representing the new cohort of its Young Leaders Programme. The programme aims to facilitate opportunities for peer-to-peer learning, for networking and connecting with experienced leaders, and the chance to engage and participate in recognised international events.

It will commence at the World Cancer Leaders’ Summit (WCLS) in Mexico City in November 2017.

We received more than 70 high quality applications from a wide range of organisations and countries, creating strong competition for the seven available awards. Applications were reviewed by a panel of international experts, including UICC Board members. UICC recognises all those who applied to the programme and would like to acknowledge the number of outstanding applications received.

Below are the seven Young Leaders and their institutions, five of which are full members of UICC. 

  • Dr Francois Uwinkindi - Rwanda Biomedical Center, Rwanda
  • Dr Kelechi Eguzo - University of Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Dr Dauren Adilbay - Kazakh Institute of Oncology and Radiology, Kazakhstan
  • Mr Paul Ebusu – Uganda Cancer Society, Uganda
  • Ms Roberta Marques - Instituto Desiderata, Brazil
  • Dr Youssef Zeidan - Naef K. Basile Cancer Institute, American University of Beirut, Lebanon
  • Dr Supriya Jayant Sastri – Tata Memorial Hospital, India 

UICC looks forward to working with these ambitious individuals over the next year. Stay tuned and read about their experiences as they embark on this leadership development journey. 

The UICC Young Leaders Programme is supported by Roche. 

Main photo: Previous Young Leaders at the 2016 World Cancer Leaders' Summit in Paris, France.

Last update: 
Friday 6 October 2017