Groups and panel

How is the TNM classification defined and updated?

The UICC TNM Project has updated and expanded the TNM Classification since its inception. For more than 50 years, the TNM Project has benefited from an active participation of internationally renowned experts in cancer staging residing on the TNM Core Committee and its sub-committees, the Evaluation Committee and the Prognostic Factors Committee.

TNM Core Committee

The TNM Core Group is responsible for project planning, analysis of information, decision-making and product generation. It is supported by the Evaluation Committee and Prognostic Factors Committee.

  • Dr Mary Gospodarowicz (Co-Chair)
  • Dr James Brierley (Co-Chair)
  • Dr Brian O’Sullivan (Chair Prognostic Factors Committee)
  • Dr Hisao Asamura (TNM Atlas Co-editor)
  • Dr Anne Lee (Global Advisory Group Coordinator)
  • Dr Elisabeth Van Eycken (TNM Helpdesk Editor)
  • Dr Meredith Giuliani (Education and Dissemination Coordinator)
  • Dr Brain Rous (TNM Atlas Co-Editor)
  • Dr Sean Kehoe (FIGO Representative)
  • Dr Robert Brookland (AJCC Representative)

The TNM Core Committee also includes representatives from IARC (International Agency for Research on Cancer), IASLC (International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer), ICCR (International Collaboration on Cancer Reporting) and WHO (World Health Organisation) to maintain a unified TNM classification.

TNM Evaluation Committee

The Evaluation Committee oversees the compilation of new evidence and expert opinion relating to possible modifications of TNM and coordinates various activities.

  • Dr Mary Gospodarowicz (Canada)
  • Dr James Brierley (Canada)
  • Dr Brian O’Sullivan (Canada)

TNM Prognostic Factors Core Group

The Prognostic Factors Core Group develops strategies relating to prognostic factors classification(s) relevant to clinical practice and is responsible for product development, including communication and timely reporting.

  • Dr Brian O’Sullivan (Chair, Canada)
  • Dr Malcolm Mason (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Mary Gospodarowicz (Canada)
  • Dr James Brierley (Canada)


Proposals for change

If you want to submit a proposal for change in the UICC TNM Classification, please consult the document How to submit proposals for change and contact us at tnm@uicc.org

Last update: 
Wednesday 6 May 2020