Upcoming Cervical Cancer Action webinars: Register now!

In January 2013, Cervical Cancer Action is hosting two webinars.

These events will bring together leading regional experts to provide our in-country partners with the latest news and information on cervical cancer prevention in Africa and Latin America. Building on the World Cancer Day "Cancer--Did you know?" campaign, these webinars will explore myths and misconceptions about cervical cancer and provide participants with important information and tools to support national cervical cancer prevention efforts through community mobilization and national and regional advocacy.

The 90-minute web-based webinars are free of charge anywhere in the world. Pre-registration is required. Please join us!

A cervical cancer free Africa: regional solutions for lasting change

Wednesday, 16 January

Webinar will last 90 minutes, beginning at: 

06h00 Seattle
09h00 New York
14h00 Dakar
15h00 Brazzaville, Geneva
16h00 Johannesburg, Harare, Lusaka
17h00 Kampala, Nairobi

Check the time of the webinar in your country

This webinar will be presented in English.

Webinar synopsis

Early efforts to improve screening and early treatment for women and to introduce HPV vaccine to girls are beginning to pick up speed across the continent. Many governments and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) are taking bold steps to prevent cervical cancer, but their action may be impeded by common myths and misconceptions. During this 90-minute discussion, regional experts will describe the progress made to date in Africa and describe emerging opportunities, available expertise, and tools to help countries reshape the future of this tragic, and entirely preventable, disease.

Presenters

  • Dr. Mike Chirenje, Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, College of Health Sciences, University of Zimbabwe (Moderator)
  • Dr. Jean-Marie Dangou, Regional Advisor for Cancer Prevention and Control, WHO Regional Office for Africa
  • Dr. Emmanuel Mugisha, Uganda Country Manager, PATH
  • Dr. Sharon Kapambwe, Program Head, African Centre of Excellence for Women's Cancer Control, Centre for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia
  • Ms. Anne Korir, Chairperson, Kenya Cancer Association

Registration

As a participant, you will be able to hear and interact with these experts at no charge. Both audio and visual access this event will be available online through ReadyTalk. All participants must pre-register.

Register for "A Cervical Cancer Free Africa: Regional Solutions for Lasting Change"

 


 

The End of Cervical Cancer in the Americas: The Time is Now

Thursday, January 17

Webinar will last 90 minutes, beginning at:

08h00 Seattle
10h00 Mexico City, San Salvador
11h00 New York, Lima
13h00 Buenos Aires
17h00 Geneva

Check the time of the webinar in your country

This webinar will be presented in Spanish.

Webinar synopsis

Efforts to end cervical cancer throughout Latin America--from Mexico to Argentina--are taking shape. Governments and their civil society partners have begun to introduce important new cervical cancer prevention technologies and approaches. However, myths and misconceptions about the disease continue to present a challenge to efforts across the region. This panel of experts will provide an update on the new tools, technologies and essential advocacy work shaping a cervical cancer free future across the region.

Presenters

  • Mr. Walter Zoss, Executive Secretary, Network of National Cancer Institutes (RINC)
  • Ms. Alejandra Meglioli, Senior Program Officer, Access, International Planned Parenthood Federation/Western Hemisphere Region (IPPF/WHR)
  • Dr. Jose Jeronimo, Senior Advisor for Women's Cancers and Director of the START-UP Project, PATH
  • Ms. Lisseth Ruiz de Campos, President of the Salvadoran Association Against Cancer
  • Dr. Elisa Prieto, Project Support Specialist, Chronic Disease Prevention and Control Pan American Health Organization/ WHO

Registration

As a participant, you will be able to hear and interact with these experts at no charge. Both audio and visual access to this event will be available online through ReadyTalk. All participants must pre-register.

Register for "The End of Cervical Cancer in the Americas: The Time is Now"